Palm Beach Civic Association 81st season logo

Protecting the quality of life since 1944.

Palm Beach’s annual election season begins with tonight’s Town Caucus

At least one race for a Town Council seat in the March 19 general election is expected to emerge from this evening’s Town Caucus.

The New England-style town meeting formally launches each year’s election season in Palm Beach. To qualify to run in the election, candidates must be nominated by registered town voters at the caucus for a specific office or council seat.

This year’s town meeting is scheduled for 6 p.m. tonight – Tuesday, December 5 – in the public meeting chambers at Town Hall. It will be the 112th caucus in the town’s history.

The two-year terms of three council members – Margaret Zeidman, Bobbie Lindsay, and Lew Crampton – all expire in March.

Lindsay and Crampton have both declared their intention to seek another term. So far, no one has challenged either incumbent. The caucus is the deadline for any opposition to emerge.

Zeidman said in October that she would retire to spend more time with her family when her fourth term expires in March.

Two challengers have stepped forward to run for the Group 3 seat being vacated by Zeidman. They are John David Corey, a Midtown resident who is a member of the Architectural Commission, and Bridget Moran, a Midtown resident and member of the Landmarks Preservation Commission.

Both Moran and Corey are Palm Beach Civic Association directors.

Corey is a retired real estate investor in Boston and Palm Beach who specialized in historic restorations of townhouses in Beacon Hill. He has lived in Palm Beach since 2012. Shortly after moving to town, he founded Palm Beach Walks to advocate for better crosswalks, sidewalks, and shade trees to enhance the town’s quality of life.

Moran has been a resident of Palm Beach since 1998. She is a member of Safeguard Palm Beach (formerly known as Palm Beach Crime Watch) and of St. Edward’s Guild and the Preservation Foundation of Palm Beach. She is a graduate of the Palm Beach Police Citizens’ Academy. She and her husband, Tim Moran, were recipients of the Ireland Funds’ 2022 Community Leadership Award.

Crampton, who holds the Group 1 seat, joined the council after defeating lawyer Harris S. Fried in the March 2018 town election. He was re-elected without opposition in 2020 and 2022.

Crampton is chairman of the board of trustees at the Cox Science Center and Aquarium and is retired as president and CEO of the museum. A South End resident, he was vice chairman of the Planning and Zoning Commission and Chairman of the Citizens’ Association of Palm Beach before joining the council.

Crampton announced in October his intention to seek re-election.

Lindsay joined the council in February 2016, when she ran unopposed for the Group 2 seat. She was re-elected without opposition in 2018, 2020, and 2022.

A North End resident, Lindsay is retired from a career in real estate development and investment in Seattle. She was a member of the Shore Protection Board and zoning commission before joining the council.

Lindsay announced in October that she would seek another term.

A Midtown resident, Zeidman joined the council in March 2016 after being elected without opposition to the Group 3 council seat. She was re-elected without facing any challengers in 2018, 2020 and 2022.

Zeidman was chosen by her peers as council president for four years in a row.

She is vice chairwoman of the Palm Beach Fellowship of Christians & Jews and retired as nursing director at Lenox Hill Hospital in New York City.


Sponsored by:

Cleveland Clinic Florida