News Brief: Town Caucus could yield up to three political contests

William Kelly  |  Our Town  |  Politics  |  December 2, 2022

Mayor Danielle Moore and Town Council members Julie Araskog and Ted Cooney are all expected to be nominated for new two-year terms at Tuesday’s Town Caucus.

No political opposition to any of the three incumbents had emerged as of Thursday. But the possibility of up to three political races remains possible until the caucus adjourns.

The caucus will begin at 6 p.m. in the public meeting chambers at Town Hall. The annual New England-style gathering marks the beginning of election season on the island. This one will be the town’s 111th.

The two-year terms of Moore, Araskog and Cooney all expire in April.

At the caucus, every candidate must be nominated, and their nomination twice seconded, for mayor or for a specific council seat. The nominations and second nominations must come from registered town voters.

If any races emerge, a town election has been scheduled for March 14.

Moore announced Nov. 3 that she will seek a second term as mayor. Araskog and Cooney both said Wednesday that they will seek additional terms.

Moore became mayor in April 2021 after being nominated without opposition to succeed Gail Coniglio, who retired after 10 years at the post.

She is a Midtown resident, a prominent philanthropist and civic leader and the daughter of former Mayor Lesly Smith.

Before becoming mayor, Moore served on the council for six years, two of them as its president. She unseated incumbent William Diamond in the 2015 town election and was unopposed in 2017 and 2019.

She is a former member and chairwoman of the town’s Recreation Advisory Commission and a former member of the Planning and Zoning Commission.

Araskog is an attorney and North End resident.

She joined the council after defeating Martin Klein in the 2017 town election. She beat back a challenge from Rene Silvin in the 2019 election and was re-elected without opposition in 2021.

Cooney is a realtor and Midtown resident.

He was elected to the council in 2021 when he defeated Candace Rojas. Prior to that, he was a member of the Landmarks Preservation Commission for almost 10 years, nearly all of them as its chairman, and was on the Architectural Commission for one year.

Coverage of the caucus will appear in the Palm Beach Civic Association’s PBTV newscast on Dec. 8.


Sponsored by:

Cleveland Clinic

Back to News

Civic Association  |  Our Town  |  January 29, 2023

Our Town with William Kelly: Richard Haass, author and foreign relations expert, to headline Civic Association event

Richard Haass, a veteran diplomat and esteemed voice on American foreign relations, will address a Palm...

See more
Reach 8 Beach Renourishment

Our Beaches  |  Our Town  |  January 26, 2023

News Brief: Shore Protection Board spotlights public education

Public outreach is a top priority for the town’s Shore Protection Board, which will hold its...

See more